How to get a medical marijuana facility license in Michigan
The Medical Marihuana Facilities Licensing Act, which creates a licensing and regulatory framework for medical marijuana, goes into effect next month.
Here’s how you can start preparing now.
The five licenses up for application are grower, processor, transporter, provisioning center and safety compliance facility. All five licenses have the same application process.
Though the state isn’t limiting the number of licenses, municipalities can decide how many they are willing to issue. Municipalities may also require nonrefundable fees of up to $5,000 to operate within their boundaries. There is no deadline for applications.
The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs has released a document checklist that applicants can use to prepare.
What you need to know:
- It’s an online application that will be found at www.michigan.gov/mmfl. The application was not available yet at press time.
- The first step is to create an account through which you can apply for a license or renewal of license and check the status of your application.
- Step one of the application process is prequalification. That involves a background and financial background check. This only needs to happen once unless there are major organizational structure changes, such as an individual proprietor becoming a limited liability corporation. Applicants should complete step one as soon as possible, even if they do not have all the documents for step two ready, as the background checks will take some time to process.
- Step two is the facility-specific application. For this, applicants will need to provide documentation showing approval from the municipality in which they intend to establish their business. Applicants will also need documents showing security plans, marketing plans, staffing plans and more.
- Applicants can pay the application fee online when they submit the application or they can show up in person at the LARA offices at 611 W. Ottawa St., Lansing, MI 48933.
- Application fees will vary depending on the type of license. The two main fees are the state license application fee and the annual regulatory assessment fee. Both are nonrefundable. The first fee will likely be in the $4,000 to $8,000 range, though it has yet to be decided. The second has also yet to be decided. However, Grower A licenses are capped at $10,000, Grower B-C, Processor, Transporter, and Provisioning Center licenses could be as low as $10,000 or as high as $57,000 and the regulatory assessment does not apply to safety compliance facilities. Other fees may also apply, such as late renewal fees.
For a more in depth understanding of the Licensing Process for a Medical Marijuana Facility in Michigan, download our Michigan State Application Guide, roughly 50-pages, designed as a detailed summary and checklist of all the action items you will need to complete prior to application submission for a Grower, Processor, Transporter or Provisioning Center (Dispensary) License. For more info, click here.