Status: In Delaware, all individuals with a legal prescription may possess and use medical marijuana. State licensed businesses may grow, process, transport, and dispense medical marijuana.
|CBD Program||Medical Program||Recreational Program||Are Applications Open?|
|Legal||Legal||Not legal||Open until Oct 28|
Number of Delaware Marijuana Business Licenses Licenses Available
Delaware Medical Marijuana Compassion Center License Guidelines
A Compassion Center may possess, cultivate, manufacture, transport, and dispense medical marijuana to assist registered qualifying patients with the medical use of marijuana directly or through the qualifying patient’s registered designated caregiver.
- A compassion center shall be operated on a not-for-profit basis.
- A compassion center shall not be located within 1,000 feet of the property line of a preexisting public or private school.
- New applicants for a Compassion Center License shall only be accepted during an open application period announced by the Department.
- A non-refundable application fee, made payable to the Division of Public Health, Medical Marijuana Program, in the amount of $5,000will be required at the time of application.
- An initial certification and bi-annual license fee of $40,000 will be required of successful applicants.
RECOMMENDED DELAWARE MARIJUANA BUSINESS PLANS FOR COMPASSION CENTER APPLICATION:
- Delaware Marijuana Business Plan Package
- Business & Operations Plan Template
- Cultivation Plan Template
- Manufacturing/Processing Plan Template
- Environmental Plan Template
- Financial Plan Template
- Fire Safety Plan Template
- Inventory Control Plan Template
- Patient Education Plan Template
- Patient Recordkeeping Plan Template
- Product Safety Plan Template
- Security Plan Template
- Staffing Plan Template
- Suitability of Proposed Plan Template
- Transportation Plan Template
The History of Delaware Marijuana Business Licenses Marijuana
On May 13, 2011, Delaware passed SB 17, legalizing medical marijuana in the state. The state awarded a single dispensary license to First State Compassion Center which has been operational since June 26th, 2015.
In December of 2015, the Department of Health decided to begin accepting Request for Proposals (RFP) for the registration and operation of a medical marijuana compassion center to produce, process and sell medical marijuana in Kent and Sussex County. RFPs were accepted until 11:00 AM on March 30, 2016.
House Bill 374, a bill to add glaucoma and chronic debilitating migraines to the list of qualifying conditions for medical marijuana treatment, was signed into law by Governor John Carney on September 8, 2018 and is effective immediately.
On September 2, 2020, the Office of Medical Marijuana issued an RFP to license four additional compassion centers in the state. Applications are due by October 28, 2020.
Regulating Departments: The Office of Medical Marijuana within the Division of Public Health
Read the Delaware Medical Marijuana Regulations.
Qualifying Conditions: Cancer, Terminal Illness, Positive status for Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV Positive), Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS), Decompensated Cirrhosis, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease), Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), Autism with aggressive behavior, Glaucoma, Chronic Debilitating Migraine, A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following; Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome, Severe debilitating pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measure for more than three months, or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects., Intractable Nausea, Seizures, Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those characteristic of Multiple Sclerosis.