Status: In Georgia, it is only legal for medically qualified individuals to possess CBD oil, but there are no methods provided for obtaining CBD oil in Georgia. It is illegal to possess dispense or cultivate marijuana or any reason.
|CBD Program||Medical Program||Recreational Program||Are Applications Open?|
|Legal||Not legal||Not legal||closed|
Number of Georgia Licenses Available
Proposed Georgia Recreational Marijuana Guidelines
Per SR 614:
- individuals 21 years or older would be able to purchase limited amounts of marijuana for personal use.
- taxes and fees provided by the proposed law would be dedicated to education and transporation infrastructure
- medical marijuana would be tax exempt
Georgia CBD Program Guidelines
- The person possessing the oil must be registered with the Georgia Department of Public Health and must have a registration card on their person when possessing said oil.
- If the patient is under 18 years of age then the parent or guardian must possess a card designating them as the patient’s caregiver.
- The medical marijuana oil must contain no more than 5% THC (tetrahydrocannabinol), and it must contain an amount of CBD (cannabidiol) that is at least equal to the amount of THC.
- The low THC oil must be in a pharmaceutical container, and the label must clearly state the percentage of THC contained therein.
- The patient may possess no more than 20 fluid ounces of low THC oil.
The History of Georgia Marijuana
Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal signed HB 1 into law on the 16th of April 2015 which allows for a limited amount of medical marijuana use for qualifying patients in the state. Unfortunately, production and dispensing is currently not allowed. State Rep. Allen Peake who is largely responsible for HB 1, introduced a bill in 2016 that would have allowed for the growing and selling of medical marijuana in the state of Georgia however it was unsuccessful.
On October 11, Atlanta City Mayor Kasim Reed signed the Marijuana Decriminalization Bill into law, which removed jail as a penalty for possession of one ounce or less of marijuana within city limits of Atlanta, imposing a $75 fine instead.
In 2017, SB 16 passed into law, expanding the use cases for acceptable medical marijuana usage in Georgia. SB 16 does not address how patients should obtain medical marijuana or provide any state system to dispense it.
In January 2018, a bipartisan sponsored bill entered the State Senate: Senate Bill 614, seeking to decriminalize marijuana for medical and recreational use within state lines.