Status: In Kansas, all use or possession of marijuana is illegal. A new state law creates an affirmative defense for patients with debilitating medical conditions who are caught in possession of low-THC cannabidiol (CBD) oil.
|CBD Program||Medical Program||Recreational Program||Are Applications Open?|
|Not legal||Not legal||Not legal||closed|
Number of Kansas Marijuana Business Licenses Licenses Available
Kansas Marijuana Business License Guidelines
Marijuana is not legal in Kansas therefore the state of Kansas is currently not licensing marijuana businesses. To get ahead of the game and prepare for your marijuana business, in the event the state legalizes marijuana, review the resources below.
RECOMMENDED KANSAS MARIJUANA BUSINESS PLANS FOR MARIJUANA BUSINESS APPLICATION:
- Marijuana Business Plan Package
- Business & Operations Plan Template
- Cultivation Plan Template
- Manufacturing/Processing Plan Template
- Environmental Plan Template
- Financial Plan Template
- Fire Safety Plan Template
- Inventory Control Plan Template
- Patient Education Plan Template
- Patient Recordkeeping Plan Template
- Product Safety Plan Template
- Security Plan Template
- Staffing Plan Template
- Suitability of Proposed Facility Plan Template
- Transportation Plan Template
The History of Kansas Marijuana Business Licenses Marijuana
Multiple bills have been introduced in Kansas to decriminalize or reduce penalties for marijuana possession. HB2462 was approved by the Kansas Legislature in 2016. As of July 2016, it reduces penalties for first time possession offenses to six months, from one year in jail. Second offenses are misdemeanors rather than felonies and limited to a maximum one year sentence.
SB 112 was approved by the Kansas Legislature in 2017. As of May 2017, it aimed to create similar reductions in penalties for marijuana accessories and paraphenalia related to growing or cultivation. This did not affect the penalties for growing marijuana, only separate charges for possession of materials with which to do so. So long as used to cultivate 5 or less plants, the fines are reduced to $1000 and/or 6 months in jail.
In May 2019, Kansas Governor Laura Kelly signed into law House Bill 2244 which will allow profoundly ill people who have been unable to find relief with pharmaceutical medications to avoid prosecution for possessing certain blends of oil extracted from cannabis plants. The law goes into effect on July 1, 2019. To clarify, the passage of this bill will create an affirmative defense for patients with debilitating medical conditions who are caught in possession of low-THC cannabidiol (CBD) oil. The new law does not establish a system of medical cannabis businesses to provide safe, legal access to the CBD oil. The cultivation, sale, distribution, and regulation of cannabis and/or its derivatives remains illegal.