Status: In Vermont, all individuals 21 years of age or older may possess and use marijuana. Home cultivation is allowed as there is not yet a system to regulate retail production and sale of marijuana. Vermont also has a medical marijuana program for qualifying patients.
|CBD Program||Medical Program||Recreational Program||Are Applications Open?|
Number of Vermont Licenses Available
The History of Vermont Marijuana
In 2004, the Vermont General Assembly passed S. 76, An Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness. A new law – S.247- passed in 2014 that eliminates the cap of 1,000 patients who are currently allowed to access dispensaries, allow naturopaths to certify patients, and allow dispensaries to deliver marijuana to patients. No more than 4 state licensed dispensaries are allowed and the state has awarded the appropriate licenses- the 4 marijuana facilities are currently operational.
On January 22, 2018, Governor Phil Scott signed H.B. 511, which legalized the recreational use of marijuana. The law makes it legal for adults 21 years and older to possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana and have two mature marijuana plants or four immature plants in each dwelling unit. The law does not set up a system to tax and regulate the production and sale of the drug.